Show Racism The Red Card 2017 Awards Ceremony

groupYoung people from The West Bridgford School see their anti-racism work recognised in Show Racism the Red Card’s National School Competition Award Ceremony.

Gareth Southgate, England Manager, was guest of honour at Show Racism the Red Card School Competition 2017 Awards Ceremony, held at Leicester City FC’s King Power Stadium on Wednesday 3rd May.

Gareth presented young people from schools throughout England with prizes for their anti-racism themed artwork, creative writing and film entries, alongside other high-profile guests during the ceremony, hosted by BBC sport presenter, Manish Bhasin.

PosterThe winners and their families and teachers were able to come to the Keith Weller Lounge at the club to see their entries on display as part of an exhibition of all entries, get involved in some football skills with Mr.Silky Skills, Richard Briathwaite and have a tour of the stadium, including photos with the Premier League trophy.

Guests included players from Leicester City FC Ladies, Leicester Riders, Leicestershire County Cricket Club, players and managers including, Dave Bassett, Anwar Uddin, Jason Lee, Frank Clark, Scott McGleish, Luther Blissett, Brendon Batson and Dave Bennett.

“Participating in this nationally recognised competition has provided the ideal platform for our students to explore the impact of racism on individuals and communities, as well as deepen their understanding of their own part to play in helping the communities they belong to be inclusive, safe and happy for everybody.”

individualShow Racism the Red Card's Chief Executive, Ged Grebby said: "It is fantastic that Leicester City Football Club agreed to host this year’s School Competition Award Ceremony. The club’s achievements last season were an inspiration to so many people, and we think the winning entries from this year’s anti-racism competition will also inspire people from across the UK and beyond.’’

“The competition sees thousands of young people take part annually and it is a hard job for the judges to pick the winners from so many great entries. This year there were some wonderfully original entries and we would like to thank all of the teachers for promoting the competition in their schools.”

“SRtRC would also like to congratulate all the winners of the 2017 School Competition on their achievement. This event is a fantastic example of the hard work and commitment of thousands of young people and the enthusiasm the SRtRC campaign inspires. Our colleagues and sponsors as ever have been very generous in their continued support and backing of the event.”

Well done once again to Emily Townsend, Aniela Bialek, Katarina Goliasova, Matthew Woodcock, Oliver Graham-Turpin, Katrina Culshaw, Lucian Munro and Louis McKinlay.

Photographs credited to John Harris from

Upcoming Events


6:00 pm Tue 27 March 2018 - 9:00 pm Thu 29 March 2018


Fri 30 March 2018 8:00 am - 3:00 pm


8:30 am Mon 02 April 2018 - 2:45 pm Sat 14 April 2018


Thu 19 April 2018 2:00 pm - 5:30 pm


Wed 25 April 2018 8:30 am - 11:00 am


Thu 26 April 2018 9:00 am - 12:00 pm


Mon 07 May 2018 8:30 am - 2:45 pm


Fri 11 May 2018 8:30 am - 2:45 pm




MobHandScreen smallsept16
itunes app store logogoogle app store


brightspace school login